One of My Favorite Quotations

Dilbert

Dilbert (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

During all my years of corporate consulting in which I encouraged employees to rid their writing of jargon, I was confronted by so-called mission statements and vision statements, often posted on walls.

I always questioned their purpose. Do employees read them and take them to heart? I doubt it—although I seem to remember reading that some Japanese companies have their employees recite the mission statements every morning in an attempt to encourage productivity. Is that all it would take? If so, why isn’t every company having workers recite the morning mantra?  I suspect it’s because these statements mean nothing.

If you are a fan of Scott Adams’ “Dilbert” cartoon, you may have seen his definition of a mission statement:

“A long awkward sentence that demonstrates management’s inability to think clearly.”

I concur.

Leave a comment

Filed under All things having to do with the English language

Leave a Reply

