Spacing After Colons

I was just asked a question about the number of spaces to use after a colon.  It used to be standard to use two spaces after both a period and a colon. Now one space after a period is acceptable, even preferred. (I still have trouble making my thumb obey and hit the space bar only once.)

I have never read anything about spacing after a colon, though, so I tried it: what do you think about one space?  Or look at this:  here are two spaces.

One space looks fine to me. What do you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

